Accessibility Tools
Henry B. Ellis, MD
Scottish Rite for Children
Henry B. Ellis
Henry Bone Ellis, Jr., M.D., is an Associate Professor at the UT Southwestern Medical School. He has been instrumental in the development and growth of the Scottish Rite for Children Orthopedic and Sports Medicine Center in Frisco, Texas where he treats children, teens and young adults with sport-related injuries, hip conditions and other injuries and condition affecting the joints. As the Medical Director of Clinical Research, Ellis provides administrative leadership for the organization as well as leading many projects focused on pediatric sports medicine and hip conditions. He creatively engages trainees and future physicians in a novel program to support pediatric orthopedic research while introducing young professionals to clinical research. His commitment to teaching has brought him to the podium at many national and international society meetings including Pediatric Orthopedic Society of North America (POSNA) and the International Pediatric Orthopedic Society (IPOS).
Ellis shares his leadership outside of the institution in a variety of settings. In 2023-24, Ellis will serve as the Texas Orthopedic Association (TOA) President where he served on the Board of Councilors 2020-22. He participated in the 2018-2019 American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons (AAOS) Leadership Fellows Program and now serves on the AAOS Evidence-Based, Quality, and Value committee. He is a founding member of the Pediatric Research and Sports Medicine (PRiSM) Society and actively contributes in multiple forums. He created, secured funding for, and continues to lead the Sports Cohort Outcomes Registry (SCORE), a large multi-center pediatric arthroscopy complications registry. He contributes to many multi-center projects including the Research in Osteochondritis Dissecans of the Knee (ROCK) group.
Ellis received his medical degree from the UT Health Science Center in San Antonio, Texas. He completed both his internship in general surgery and residency in orthopaedic surgery at the UT Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, Texas. There, he received the W. Brandon Carrell Distinguished Physician Award and was elected Chief Resident. He completed fellowships in pediatric orthopedics at the Hospital for Sick Children at the University of Toronto and sports medicine at the Steadman Philippon Research Institute in Vail, Colorado.


  • Fellowship Pediatric Orthopaedics, Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), 2012, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Fellowship Sports Medicine, Steadman Philippon Research Institute and the Steadman Clinic, 2011, Vail, Colorado
  • Residency Orthopaedic Surgery, UT Southwestern Medical Center, 2010, Dallas Texas
  • Internship, General Surgery UT Southwestern Medical Center, 2006, Dallas, Texas
  • Medical School, The University of Texas Health Science Center, 2005, San Antonio, Texas
  • Undergraduate Degrees, The University of Texas, 2000, Austin, Texas.


  1. UT Southwestern Medical Center, Leadership Emerging in Academic Development, (LEAD) Program, 2022
  2. Pediatric Research in Sports Medicine (PRiSM), Best Surgical Treatment and Outcomes, Annual Meeting, 2022
  3. Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, Best ePoster – Annual Meeting, 2021
  4. Journal of Experimental Orthopaedics (JEO), Best Paper Award, 2020
  5. Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, Arthur Huene award, 2020
  6. Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, Best Clinical Paper Annual Meeting, 2019
  7. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, Leadership Fellows Program, 2018
  8. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons award, 2014
  9. Arthroscopy Association of North America, Richard O’Connor Award, 2012
  10. UT Southwestern Medical Center, Vert Mooney Award for Academic Achievement, 2010
  11. UT Southwestern Medical Center, W. Brandon Carrell Distinguished Physician Award, 2010
  12. UT Southwestern Medical Center, Chief Resident, 2009-2010
  13. UT Southwestern Medical Center, Best Orthopaedic Teaching Resident, 2008
  14. UT Health Science Center at San Antonio, Alpha Omega Alpha, Texas Epsilon Chapter, 2005
  15. Steadman – Hawkins Sports Medicine Foundation, Scherb Award, 2001
  16. Steadman - Hawkins Sports Medicine Foundation, Charles S. Neer Award (Finalist), 2001


American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS), Sports Medicine, 2016. American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS), 2014