Accessibility Tools
Jason Koh, MD
Director and Mark R. Neaman Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery
Jason Koh
Dr. Koh has taught nationally and internationally on problems of the patellofemoral joint, and has performed research in this area extensively for 2 decades, and recently published the first international case-based book on Patellofemoral Surgery. He was the first Patellofemoral Foundation Traveling Fellow, visiting multiple institutions around the world. He is currently the Vice President of the Patellofemoral Foundation and is on the executive committee of the International Patellofemoral Study Group (IPSG) and the International Society of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine (ISAKOS).He has led multiple courses and has hosted the IPSG Meeting. He is the Chair of the Scientific Committee of ISAKOS and has served on the Research and Education Committees of the Arthroscopy Association of North America and the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine. Dr. Koh has been team doctor for the Chicago Cubs and the Chicago Fire Major League Soccer Team as well as Medical Director for the Joffrey Ballet. He is currently Sports Medicine fellowship co-director and Clinical Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine.


  • Bachelor of Arts Biology, Magna Cum Laude, Harvard College
  • Medical Degree, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Internship, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Orthopaedic Residency, Hospital for Special Surgery
  • Sports Medicine Fellowship, Cleveland Clinic
  • MBA, Northwestern University Kellogg School of Management


  1. Research Science Institute Scholar
  2. Dean’s List, Harvard University
  3. John Harvard Scholarship
  4. Harvard College Scholarship
  5. Magna cum laude honors, Harvard University
  6. Best presentation, AOA Resident Meeting
  7. Charles Neer II Award, American Shoulder and Elbow Society (x2)
  8. Graduation Speaker, University of Michigan Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Ann Arbor
  9. Guest lecturer, Yale University
  10. John J. Fahey, M.D., North American Traveling Fellowship, American Orthopaedic Association
  11. Richard O’Connor Award, Arthroscopy Association of North America (Highest award)
  12. Traveling Fellowship, Patellofemoral Foundation
  13. Fellow, AAOS Leadership Fellows Program
  14. James K. Stack, MD Teaching Award, Northwestern University
  15. Cover of Tissue Engineering, Journal of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine
  16. Best Doctors in America
  17. Castle Connolly Top Doctor
  18. Top Doctors, Chicago Magazine
  19. Member Executive committee, International Patellofemoral Study Group
  20. ACL Study Group
  21. Herodicus Society
  22. Association of Bone & Joint Surgeons (Honorary Societies)


American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) and additional certification in Sports Medicine